Belly Bump Update (Weeks 29-32)

29wkbump30wkbump

31wkbump32wkbump

Wow!  What a month!  Early in the month, I was diagnosed with anemia and gestational diabetes.  Thank goodness both conditions can be controlled easily.  For the anemia, I’m taking an iron pill twice a day (with Vitamin C to help the iron absorb).  For the gestational diabetes, I closely monitor what I eat, and check my blood sugar 4 times a day.  So far, I’ve been able to keep both under control.  Thank goodness!

We had another ultrasound at 29 weeks.  Babies are growing right on track- as if there were only one baby in there.  Aidan was 2.8 lbs and Nadia was 2.5 lbs.  It’s normal for boys to be slightly larger than girls, and both are within the normal range for growth.  Keep growing, babies!!

29wkUltra

Aidan was still breech at the time of the ultrasound.  We’ll check again at 33 weeks, but if he doesn’t turn, it’s an automatic c-section.  At first, the thought of having a c-section TERRIFIED ME, but now that I’ve had some time to do some research, I’m feeling a bit better about it.

Nadia has decided her optimum time to do somersaults is 3:30am to 4am.  She wakes me up- when she does flips like that, my tummy looks like the scene in Alien just before the alien pops out of the guy’s stomach!  It takes my breath away when she stretches my stomach like that.  Silly girl!

While Nadia likes to do acrobatics, Aidan likes to get the hiccups.  He gets them almost every day, and I feel a rhythmic tugging very low and toward my back.  It’s hard to describe because I can’t feel it from the outside, just on the inside.  Ha!

We started weekly doctor visits at 31 weeks, and weekly Nonstress Tests at 32 weeks.  Nonstress Tests are interesting.  I have to go to the hospital, lay on a bed, and have two belts hooked up- one for each baby.  One belt monitors Aidan’s heart rate, and the other monitors Nadia’s heart rate and me (looking for contractions).  Our first test, the nurse hooked up the belts, started recording, and began entering my information into the computer while the machine was recording.  Aidan was trying to buck the belt off!  Goodness, those were some strong kicks.  By the time the nurse was done entering the info, she said Aidan had passed the test!  But the monitoring still had to go for the full 20 minutes.  Both babies did great, meaning that they are healthy and active.  This test also helps to make sure the placentas are still functioning properly, and babies are feeling good.

The doctor says I can go into labor any time after 33 weeks, based on statistics.  I’m hoping to hold on to these precious babies and keep them baking until at least week 37, when they will be considered full-term.  I’m SO EXCITED to meet them, but I can wait!  :)

7 responses to “Belly Bump Update (Weeks 29-32)

  1. Josie, I love hearing/reading about your progress. We are so excited for you and Ty and can’t wait to meet those sweet babies!!

  2. My twins, Aidan and Nadia are now 10. I wish you the best of luck! It is a crazy, fun, and exciting roller coaster for sure with lots of love, but fighting too. Enjoy the early days for it passes way too quickly! There is nothing more fun than raising a set of boy/girl twins! They seem to be the ones that conspire to most. Nadia is my brilliant mastermind behind all the chaos while Aidan is the one that pulls off the stunts. While the destructive behavior has finally leveled out, there are still plenty of crazy things these two come up with to keep life interesting.

    • Thank you so much for your comments, April! We are so excited to meet our little ones and to see how their personalities develop. Never a dull moment! :)

  3. What are their middle names going to be? We had chosen Aidan first, and it was by honest mistake we got Nadia when I just kept doodling Aidan over and over until I doodled it backwards. I didn’t like it at first, but my husband said that was her name the minute I mentioned it. It grew on me, and she is my one of kind kid that marches to the beat of her own drum. Nadia suits her perfect! People get so excited when they realize on their own that their names are backwards spellings of each other’s. They just look at them now like “what’s the big deal?”. We have Aidan Nikolas and Nadia Ann-Marie. I really thought their names would become popular twin names, but surprisingly they haven’t. Congrats on going past 30 weeks as well. Mine came at exactly 30 and had a rather brief stay in the NICU. They were surprisingly very healthy and big for their gestational age.

    • My Dad was the one who noticed that Aidan spelled backwards was Nadia. We chose Aidan first, too! Their middle names will be Aidan Rae and Nadia Dawn (after my hubby’s dad Ramon and my dad Don).

      We’ve officially made it to 36 weeks! Going in for NSTs every couple of days. Nadia failed a couple of the tests earlier this week, but passed the biophysical profile ultrasounds. She’s estimated to be a full pound smaller than Aidan (4.1 lbs vs 5.1 lbs), and it was found that the blood flow from her placenta is a bit restricted. Luckily, she passed the NST yesterday, so we get to keep baking at least a few more days. Hoping to get that little miss some baby fat so she can bulk up!

      We’re taking it an appointment at a time. They could come any day now! The nurse told us yesterday that our babies are now considered full-term. I didn’t think that happened until they were 37 weeks, but hey, I’ll take it! :-)

  4. diaryofamadcrafter

    You look great!! I was also diagnosed with anemia from my glucose test (blech how terrible was that test!?!) I think that’s pretty common. I can’t wait for your next update yay!!! :) :) hope you’re feelin good!

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

