Quickie Turkey Noodle Soup

Have you seen the weather forecast yet?  Here in Western Idaho, we’re going to have 3 days of sleet/snow next week.  SLEET AND SNOW!!  NO NO NO!!  I’m not ready!  We haven’t trimmed the bushes or fed the lawn the fall fertilizer yet.   I haven’t made a huge jar of hot cocoa mix.  Luckily, I do know where my scarves and mittens are, but my cute little winter hat is missing…

Well, let’s face it.  It’s not summer anymore.  Winter is coming!  It’s only two weeks to Thanksgiving.  Oh, sorry.  Forgot to make sure you were sitting down before I said that.  My bad.

When the weather gets cool and my nose starts running, I crave warm steaming bowls of soup.  Not creamy soup.  Brothy soup.   And this is one of my hubby’s faves.  We just won’t tell him how I snuck in an onion.  He’s eaten three bowls and hasn’t noticed yet.  Shhhh. 

If it’s getting cold where you are, here’s what to do:

1.  Make sure the pilot light on the fireplace is lit.

2.  Locate big blankets, soft fuzzy socks, and some comfy pajamas.  The flannel kind.

3.  Make some steamy soup.

4.  GET WARM!!  🙂

Quickie Turkey Noodle Soup

1 Tbsp butter

1 small onion, chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

2 celery stalks, peeled and chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

1 quart good chicken stock

2 cups water

1 lb smoked turkey, cubed*

1 bay leaf

1 sprig fresh rosemary

3 oz. noodles (broken into 2″ pieces)

1.  Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat.  Once melted, add the veggies and saute until onions are tender and translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

2.  Stir in turkey, broth, water, bay leaf and rosemary.  Bring to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer for about 10 to 15 minutes or until veggies are crisp-tender.

3.  Add noodles and cook for an additional 9 minutes (or however long the package says to cook the noodles).  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

4.  Slurp away!

*You may sub any leftover turkey in this recipe, but I really like the flavor the smoked turkey gives the soup.

Tip: Sometimes, I like to add a little Asian 5-spice powder.  When I do, I leave out the Rosemary.  It gives the soup an incredible savory flavor.  You could also sub thyme for rosemary.  1/2 tsp dried thyme would do it!

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

