Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fa-La-La-La-La….La-La-La-Crap! 

I almost forgot about that holiday party tomorrow.  There’s just too much going on around here!  Presents to wrap, baking to do, puppies, cats and husbands to feed…

Never fear!  Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip is here!  The recipe is easy to put together.  Plus, it’s great to use up that leftover chicken.  😉

This is another brilliant idea from Pinterest.  You can find the original recipe here, but I adjusted the cooking method to adapt it for the crock pot.  Hope you enjoy it as much as we did at the party!  I served it with plain pita chips, triscuit crackers, celery sticks and baby carrots.

The recipe can be made lighter by using fat free sour cream, fat free cream cheese, and light butter–BUT– I think fat free versions of sour cream and cream cheese are a crime against nature.  Seriously, have you tasted that stuff?!  I’d much rather sub fat free plain greek yogurt for the sour cream.  Crazy, I know, but it works.  There is no fat free sub for the cream cheese that actually tastes good.  No worries– the extra 10 calories won’t kill you.  Promise.  Just be sure to walk around the house a few extra times and you’re good.

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip

Adapted from laaloosh.com

  • 1 lb cooked chicken, chopped (Do NOT use canned.  Too much salt!)
  • 8 oz. softened cream cheese (I used light)
  • 2 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I used light)
  • 1/2 cup Frank’s Red Hot Original Cayenne Pepper Sauce
  • 1/2 packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing Mix (about 2 Tbsp)

1.  In a medium bowl, mix butter, sour cream, and cream cheese until blended well.  Add hot sauce and ranch seasoning; mix well.  Stir in chicken.

2.  Place the mixture in a small crock pot (mine is 2 quarts).  If needed, you can store the crock pot insert in the refrigerator overnight.

3.  Cook on low for 2 to 3 hours, or until heated through.  Serve with fun dipping things (veggies, flat pretzels, crackers, chips, etc.).  I also served with extra hot sauce on the side for those who have more daring taste-buds than I do. 🙂

Note: My Grilled Garlic Lemon Chicken works GREAT in this recipe!

One response to “Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip

  1. Pingback: Creamy Cheesy Stuffed Mushrooms | Josie Cooks!

I want to hear from you! What do you think?