Rhubarb Crisp (like apple crisp, but BETTER)

Wow.   I didn’t really know what to expect.  Would it be sour?  Would it be stringy?  Would it have any flavor at all? 

The answer is– this recipe will AMAZE you.  The flavor is similar to apple crisp, but BETTER.  It has a tang that can only come from the vegetable we treat like a fruit.  Yep.  Rhubarb is a vegetable.  It’s a stalk like celery.  I’m sure that’s no surprise to you.  Some of the people I work with were a bit stunned to find out the truth about rhubarb.  As one coworker put it, “So, it’s like a vegetable in drag”?  HA HA!!  Loved that one…

Rhubarb always makes me think of my grandma, Lucille.  Upon arrival, I was allowed to have a paring knife so I could go cut down some stalks.  I’d cut off the leaf (which is poisonous), toss it in the trash, and peel the stalk.  Then I’d coat it in a light layer of salt and chow down.  I loved how sour it was.  It wasn’t until I was in college that I actually tried anything that had cooked rhubarb in it.   Crazy, right?   

What do you like to bake in the Spring?

Rhubarb Crisp

Adapted from Everyday Cooking

  • 2 lbs rhubarb, chopped (about 8 cups)
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar, divided
  • 3/4 cup flour, divided
  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick), cold, cut into pieces
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place rhubarb in a 9 x 13 baking dish. In a separate bowl, combine sugar and flour. Sprinkle over fruit and toss to combine until mixed well. Let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.
  2. In a food processor, pulse the remaining 1/2 cup flour with butter until the clumps are pea sized. Add the remaining white sugar, brown sugar, oats, and cinnamon. Pulse until well combined. Sprinkle over the fruit.
  3. Bake for about 20 minutes. Loosely cover with foil and continue to bake for another 30 minutes or until rhubarb is tender.
  4. Let cool at least 15 to 20 minutes. Serve warm with ice cream or whipped cream.
I want to hear from you! What do you think?

