Raspberry Tea Chiller

Holy bananas.  It’s hot outside!  We’ve been in the 90’s/ low 100’s for a few weeks now.  Because our home faces east, I don’t even want to cook at night because the back porch is bathed in the sun during the evening.  Some of the neighbors move their grills out front.  I have a ‘thing’ about grilling out front.  I don’t know what my problem is– I just don’t like it.  Mostly because I would be  inviting anyone that walked by to dinner.  🙂

I also have a problem with caffeine.  My ‘summer drink’ is iced tea.  I can drink gallons of that stuff!  But I can’t do caffeine after 3 pm or I can’t sleep.  And decaf black tea just doesn’t taste the same.  What to do, what to do…

My husband loves Raspberry Iced Tea.  I like it, too, but I can’t deal with too much sugar.  Gosh, now it sound like I’m the picky one!  Well, the good news is that I know how to work around my picky-ness.  😉

This tea is cool and refreshing.  I can drink all I want at night and sleep like  a baby.   I make it 2 to 3 times a week!

What do you do to keep cool when its HOT outside?

Raspberry Tea Chiller

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 5 bags Celestial Seasonings Berry Zinger Tea
  • 1.7L (about 2 quarts) boiling water
  • 4 squirts (about 1/2 cup)Raspberry Syrup (1 use Torani Sugar Free)
  • Ice
  1. Steep tea bags in boiling water for 5 to 7 minutes.
  2. Pour into a heat-proof pitcher and add the syrup.  Refrigerate overnight or until cold.
  3. Pour over ice.  Add more raspberry syrup for desired sweetness.

Variation: Peach Tea Chiller

Substitute Celestial Seasonings Country Peach Passion tea and use Peach flavored Syrup.

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

