Easy Corn

I fell in love with summer as soon as I was old enough to walk.  My Mom had to put a fence up around her garden all because of me.  I didn’t quite know how to tell if a tomato was ripe yet, so my Mom would find green tomatoes strewn all over the yard with tiny little bites taken out of them.  I would also eat the tops off the onions and come inside singing at the top of my lungs.  “Here, sweetie.  You need a breath-mint!”

Gardens also make me think of my grandmother.  It was so much fun to go visit her and ‘graze’ in her garden.  She likes to plant dill, tomatoes, zucchini, cucumbers, carrots, radishes, potatoes, peas and beans.  The rhubarb and raspberries are good, too!

We are renting a house and have limited space for a garden.  I have a few plants on the back porch in pots, but its just not the same.  The good thing is that there are plenty of vegetable stands that pop up this time of year, with everything from fresh melons and baked bread to purple cauliflower and roasted chiles.

This time of year, we have fresh corn on the cob every other day.  This corn is so sweet, it doesn’t need butter!  The kernels are so plump and juicy, they pop in your mouth.  But I hate going to all the hassle of waiting for a huge pot of water to boil when there’s just two ears of corn to make for the both of us.

This method has been listed on several websites (this one and this one to name a couple).  Its difficult to track down the original source of the idea.  Basically, you cook the corn, husk and all, in the microwave.  After its cooked, you cut off the bottom and carefully slide the cob out, holding on to the leaves and silk at the top.  The result is a silk-free cob of corn!

Easy Corn

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 2 ears of corn, husk and all
  • clean kitchen towel
  • cutting board
  • knife
  1. Place corn in the microwave.  I switched the turn table to ‘Off’ because my corn was so large, it wouldn’t rotate.
  2. Microwave on high for 4 minutes.
  3. Flip over/rotate, and cook an additional 4 to 5 minutes.
  4. Let stand in microwave another minute or two.
  5. Place on a cutting board.  Cut off the bottom about 1/2 inch from the bottom of the cob.  I like to use a kitchen towel to hold on to the hot cob when I do this.
  6. Grasp the top of the leaves and silk, and gently shake from side to side until the cob slides out.
  7. Enjoy your corn!! 🙂
I want to hear from you! What do you think?

