Fridge Pickles

I am so lucky!  Really, I am!  I have friends.  Friends with gardens.  Friends that like to share.  Friends that leave BAGS of cucumbers and tomatoes on my desk.  🙂

Know what my favorite way to have a cucumber is?  Pickled.  I love dill pickles!  I like a sweet pickle every once in a while (but only the ones that my Grandma makes).  Seriously, I eat a pickle every day.  We have at least 3 different kinds in the fridge at all times.

So, we’ve established my love for garlicky salty vinegary cucumbers.  But you know what?  I’m lazy.  I don’t want to mess with canning.  I don’t mind cutting things up and stuffing them into jars.  It’s the boiling of the jars that gets to me. And the texture never turns out quite right (unless you add a little calcium chloride).  What’s the answer?

Fridge pickles!  These things are AWESOME!  Use clean, sanitized jars, fill them with seasonings and cucumbers, then fill ’em up with a salty vinegar brine.  Wait a few days, and rip into them.  YUM!  These will keep in the fridge for a long time.  Months.  Unless you’re a pickle lover like me.  Then it might be weeks. 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fridge Pickles

Click Here for the Printer Friendly Recipe

  • Cucumbers, scrubbed well and cut into spears (I like to cut the stem end off as it tends to be bitter), enough to fill quart jar
  • Garlic (1 large clove per jar, cut in half)
  • Mustard seeds or pickling spice (1/2 tsp per quart jar)
  • 1 large sprig fresh dill
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 cup white vinegar (I use Heinz)
  • 2 Tbsp sea salt
  1. Place mustard seeds or pickling spice into the bottom of a clean quart-size jar.  Add the garlic, dill, and red pepper flakes.
  2. Pack cucumber spears in the jar as tightly as possible.
  3. In a medium pot over high heat, bring water, vinegar, and salt to a boil.
  4. Quickly pour the vinegar solution into the jar, filling to within 1/2 inch of the top.  Be sure the cucumbers are completely submerged.
  5. Screw the top on.  Let sit out for about 30 minutes to cool a bit.
  6. Stash your jar in the back of the fridge for at least 5 days.  Then crack ’em open and crunch away!

This recipe is for one quart size jar of pickles.  It can easily be doubled, tripled, quadrupled, etc.  depending on how many cucumbers you have on hand.  Just make sure you have enough room in your fridge!

These pickles have PUCKER POWER!!

What do you like to do with extra cucumbers?

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

