Chicken Taco Soup

A spicy broth served with roasted chicken, cheese, and tortilla chips.

A spicy broth served with roasted chicken, cheese, and tortilla chips.

Sometimes, you don’t have a whole lot of time to cook.  I know– shocking!  On top of that, the weather outside in December might be just a little bit too much like Fall weather instead of Winter weather.  Instead of snowing, it’s raining.  Instead of highs in the mid-30’s to low-40’s, the weather is in the 50’s.  While I am thankful for the lack of needed shoveling, I am also missing the snow.  A lot.

I put up the Christmas lights, wear my fuzzy slippers, and get cozy in my sweaters, but it’s just not the same!  When I was a kid growing up in Southeast Idaho, we had a lot of snow.  The city would dump the snow they took off the roads in an empty lot about a block from our house.  All the neighborhood kids would build snow-forts and dig-snow tunnels.  We’d also bring our sleds and squeal as we went down our local snow mountain, usually ending up in the alley next to the lot.  It was a lot of fun and I never remember feeling cold.

One year, we had a drift in the back yard that came all the way to the sliding glass door.  The dog needed outside to do his business.  I opened the door, he took a running leap into the back yard, and got stuck!  The snow was so deep, his paws weren’t touching the ground and he couldn’t move.  I had to go out and rescue him.  Poor little guy.

As I was dreaming of snow the other day, I realized it was getting late and I was HUNGRY.  I had some leftover rotisserie chicken, and I didn’t have time to cook my favorite Chicken Tortilla Soup.  I decided to make Chicken Taco Soup with ingredients I had in my pantry.  Wow!  It was YUMMY!  The steaming spicy broth and melting cheese warmed me right up.  Perfect for a not-so-winter night.   😉

What do you like to cook for dinner when you’re in a hurry?

Chicken Taco Soup

  • FOR THE SOUP:
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can refried beans
  • 1 (14.5 oz.) can corn, drained
  • 1 (4 oz) can green chilies
  • 1 package taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 lb. Rotisserie Chicken Meat
  • Hot sauce to taste
  • GARNISHES:
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Sliced Olives
  • Fresh Tomatoes
  • Avocados
  • Tortilla Chips
  • Sour Cream
  1. Place tomatoes, beans, corn, green chilies  taco seasoning, onions, broth and water in a large soup pot.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring often so the beans don’t burn, about 20 minutes.
  2. Stir in the chicken meat and season to taste with hot sauce.  I think the taco seasoning is hot enough, so I don’t usually have to add any.  Cook until the soup begins to boil again, about 4 more minutes.
  3. Ladle into bowls and serve with your favorite toppings.
I want to hear from you! What do you think?

