Deep Dish Pizza

IMG_2015[1]

I will admit– I am a thin-crust pizza girl.  It’s not that I don’t like deep dish or ‘pan’ pizza, I just prefer my crust to be SUPER crispy.  But making my own crust takes time.  And I didn’t have that kind of time!

This recipe comes together VERY quick.  You can make it and have pizza on the table faster than having one delivered.  Plus, you can add whatever pizza toppings you want, and it won’t cost you another dollar per topping. Unless you like weird expensive stuff on your pizza, like lobster or saffron.  Ewwww!!!

Deep Dish Pizza

Serves 6

  • 1 tube Pillsbury Pizza Dough
  • 1 lb. lean ground beef or Italian Sausage, cooked, drained and crumbled
  • 14 oz. pizza sauce (I like Classico)
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • pizza toppings (I used 1/4 cup sliced olives and 1/4 cup sliced mushrooms)
  • 1-1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.  Spray a 9″ x 13″ pan with cooking spray.  Pop the tube of dough and press it into the pan, making sure it comes about half way up the sides.  Don’t worry if the dough gets a hole in it while you’re taking it out of the tube– just pinch it together to seal.
  2. Combine the beef or sausage, sauce, and Italian seasonings in a bowl.  Spread evenly over the crust.  Top with pizza toppings and cheese.
  3. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until crust is golden and done.  Let cool on a rack for about 5 minutes, then slice into 6 large pieces.

I served mine with salad.  Yum!

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

