Baked Brown Rice

IMG_2060[1]

I had a bad cooking day yesterday.  Seriously.  I made red beans and rice.  And I didn’t like it.  At all.

It was tasteless.  Flavorless.  No zing.  Sure, it had smoked sausage in it.  But it was SALTY.  Too salty.  Blech!  Won’t be making that one again.

So instead of sharing a truly awful recipe for Red Beans and Rice, I thought I’d let you in on my little secret.  I love brown rice, but not if it’s made on the stovetop or in a rice cooker.  Nope.  Those are gummy.  I’m a rice snob.  You need to do something different with brown rice to make it taste and feel right.  You need to bake it!

The next time you’re making dinner and you want some rice, use this method and make the good and healthy stuff.  Not the minute-rice version that’s all icky-poo.  The GOOD stuff.  You’re worth it!

Baked Brown Rice

Adapted from Alton Brown

  • 2-1/2 cups water
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1-1/2 cups brown rice (I like medium-grain)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In an oven safe pot (I use my enameled cast-iron pot), bring water and butter to a boil.  Stir in salt and rice.  Cover, and bake for 50 minutes.
  3. Remove from oven, carefully open the lid and fluff with a fork.  Place a clean kitchen towel over the top, replace the lid, and let stand for about 5 minutes.
  4. Fluff with a fork again and serve or use in your favorite rice recipe.  It makes GREAT fried rice!
One response to “Baked Brown Rice

  1. I always make my brown rice like this! Stove top never makes good brown rice, baking is marvilous! Perfectly cooked, chewy and not crunchy or mushy.

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

