Microwave Omelet

IMG_2308[1]

I read somewhere that eating a protein-packed breakfast prevents unhealthy snacking at night (Click Here for the article).  I don’t know about you, but I feel like the Cookie Monster at night!  I do great during the day, but after dinner, no matter how large or nutritious dinner was, I still feel hungry.  What’s wrong with me?  Maybe I’m not getting enough protein the morning.

Let’s get real for a second here.  No matter how much we plan in advance, mornings before work are always a rush, aren’t they?  Just when I think to myself, Hey cool!  I have 10 minutes before we have to leave for carpool! My husband walks into the room and tells me we have to get gas on the way.  Or that the cat just threw up on the carpet.  You know.  Fun stuff.

Hard boiled eggs are a great idea, but I don’t normally plan that far in advance.  PB&J is another go-to-breakfast for me.  But sometimes, I need something different.  I need something filling.  I need something REAL.  Real easy, that is!

This recipe is done in under 3 minutes.  Really!  And its good.  Sometimes, I put in leftover veggies from the night before.  Last week, I made a tomato-kale saute with onions and garlic.  The leftovers were wonderful in an omelet with Parmesan.  This morning, I made a classic ham and cheese.  If you use leftovers, be sure to warm them up before putting them in.

I hope you enjoy this recipe– and that it will help you to get in a quick, healthy, filling breakfast so you are ready to face the day! 🙂

Microwave Omelet

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Nonstick spray
  • Microwave-safe bowl
  • 1 large egg
  • pinch salt
  • dash of pepper
  • 1/2 tsp water
  • Filling (1 Tbsp cheese, a slice or two of lunch meat, leftovers, whatever is on hand)
  1. Spray a small bowl with nonstick spray.  Add the egg, salt, pepper and water.  Whip well.
  2. Microwave on high 1 minute.  Check the bottom to make sure it’s done.  If not, flip the egg and microwave another 30 seconds.
  3. Place fillings on one side.  Cover bowl with a plate and return to microwave.  Microwave another 10 seconds, then let stand 10 seconds.  Once the cheese is melted, it’s done!
  4. Flip the plain side over the filling side and slide the whole thing out onto the plate.  Enjoy!
2 responses to “Microwave Omelet

  1. I have a good one, similar to yours but easily carried in the car. I used real eggs that I stirred in my mug because egg beaters are gross:
    http://www.hungry-girl.com/newsletters/raw/1256

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

