Monkey Fruit Salad

monkeyfruitsalad

I have an obsession with monkeys.  We’re decorating the nursery in Monkeys for the twins!  We have monkey sheets, monkey outfits, monkey blankets, monkey quilts, a monkey diaper bag… yep.  Monkeys everywhere!

And what do monkeys eat?  Fruit.  And what has this preggo lady been craving?  FRUIT!  I love this salad.  It’s simple, keeps for a few days in the fridge, and is super healthy for me and my babies.  Sometimes I even add a dollop of whipped cream to make it a bit more indulgent.

Here’s to a Happy and Healthy 2014!

Monkey Fruit Salad

  • 1 (15 oz. can) pineapple chunks- drain and reserve 1/4 cup juice
  • 1 banana, peeled and sliced
  • 1 pint strawberries, hulled and cut into chunks
  • 1 apple, cored and cut into chunks (I used Gala)
  • 1 orange, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 cup red or green grapes, halved
  • whipped cream for topping (optional)
  1. Put all the fruit in a bowl.  Drizzle with reserved pineapple juice, and stir well to coat.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 4 or 5 days.
  2. To serve, spoon fruit into a bowl and add a dollop of whipped cream!

This fruit also makes a great smoothie combo.  Just combine in a blender with some plain or vanilla yogurt and ice.  YUM!!

2 responses to “Monkey Fruit Salad

  1. Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused ..
    Any ideas? Thanks!

    • Thanks for the complement! That was sweet of you.

      My advise is to start with a free platform- you can always upgrade to the paid version later if you want to. I love WordPress and how user friendly and customizable it is. Blogger or Typepad are some other options if you don’t like WordPress.

      As far as writing, just tell your story. I really like the blogs that are personal– written by a person and not a robot. 🙂

      The great thing about blogging is all you have to do is take the leap and get started. You’ll be amazed at how things develop over time!

      Good luck to you!!

I want to hear from you! What do you think?

