Beer Soaked Flank Steak

I admit it.  I am not a beer fan.  Can’t stand to drink the stuff.  It’s far too bitter for me.  Luckily, my hubby likes to drink a cold one every once in a while.  That usually means that there is a can or two hiding out in the back of the fridge to cook with.  Beer can give recipes a wonderful yeasty flavor.  Don’t believe me?  Try this recipe and you’ll change your mind!

Don’t forget to allow enough time for the meat to marinate in the beer sauce. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Beer Soaked Flank Steak

  • 1.5 lbs flank steak, trimmed of fat, washed and patted dry
  • 12 oz. beer
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp to 1 Tbsp hot sauce
  • 1.5 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  1. In a 9×13 inch pan, combine beer, olive oil, brown sugar, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper.  Add the beef and let marinate 2 to 24 hours, turning a few times.  I like to marinate mine overnight.
  2. Remove beef from marinade and preheat grill over medium high heat.  Cook 4 minutes each side.  Let rest, covered loosely with foil, for 10 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, place leftover marinade in a saucepan and heat over medium high heat.  Add hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce.  Boil about 10 minutes to reduce.  The sauce may foam, so keep an eye on it.
  4. Slice beef against the grain and spoon sauce over the top.  Enjoy!

One response to “Beer Soaked Flank Steak

  1. I wish I had someone to drink the rest of the beer. I love to flavor of beer in sauces (like this one) and bread, but can’t stand the stuff either. Might have to try this one Josie!

I want to hear from you! What do you think?